This is the official Website of the District Administration of Thanjavur, State Government of Tamil Nadu (India)

                              Contents Owned, Maintained and Updated by the District Administration, Thanjavur. For further queries send Email to collrtnj (at) nic (dot) in

                                                                  Designed,developed and hosted by District Administer, Thanjavur.
The Tamil language, in the south of India is known for its antiquity, its richness of vocabulary and its classical literature. For a long time these qualities were not known to the world outside. Orientalists such as Max Mueller, Keith and even Edwin Arnold identified the literature of India with Sanskrit only. It is this neglect of Tamil in the British period that motivated a meeting of Tamil scholars at Thanjavur to consider starting a university for the development and growth Tamil in August, 1925. But, perhaps due to the lack of patronage from the government, the plan did not materialise.

In post-independent India, in September 1981, the location of the Tamil University was chosen on the outskirts of Thanjavur. The Tamil Nadu State Assembly unanimously passed the Tamil University Act in the second week of September 1981 and the first Vice-Chancellor took office a week later, The University Grants Commission gave recognition to the university in 1983.


    Department of Sculpture
    Department of Music
    Department of Drama


    Department of Palmleaf Manuscriptology
    Department of Rare Paper Manuscriptology
    Department of Epigraphy
    Department of Underwater Archaeology Centre

Developing Tamil

   Department of Tamil Studies in Foreign Countries
    Department of Translation
    Department of Lexicography
    Department of Social Science
    Department of Scientific Tamil and Tamil Development
    Department of Education


    Department of Literature
    Department of Linguistics
    Department of Philosophy
    Department of Tribal Research Centre
    Department of School of Indian Languages
    Department of Folklore