Granary’s of South India

River cauvery is the Main Source of irrigation for Cultivation in this district, which is known for its heritage in water management. Composite Thanjavur District with its fertile  soil is one of the largest  paddy cultivation area not only in Tamilnadu but also in South India

Thanjavur  District is in the east coast of Tamil Nadu.  The district lies between 78. 43’ and 70. 23’ of the Eastern longitudes and 9.50′ and 11.25’ of the Northern Latitudes.

Since composite Thanjavur is large in extent, for administrations Convienience two districts were carved out from Thanjavur composite district.

On 19.01.1991 Nagapattinam district was formed by bifurcating  Thanjavur district At the time Nagapattinam district  included Thiruvarur, Mayiladudurai, Mannargudi, Nagapattinam divisions and Valangaiman taluk from Kumabakonam division.

In the Year 1997 Nagapattinam district was bifurcated into Nagapattinam and Thiruvarur for administrative convineince.

The District is bound by Coloroon on the North which seperates it from Ariyalur and Tiruchirapalli district. Thiruvarur and Nagapattinam districts on the east. Palk Strait and Pudukottai on the  South and Pudukottai and Tiruchirapalli on the West.

The area of the district is  It consists of three divisions Thanjavur, Kumbakonam, Pattukottai and nine Taluks of Thanjavur, Kumbakonam, Papanasam, Pattukottai, Peravurani, Orathanadu, Thiruvidaimarudur, Thiruvaiyaru and Budalur.  The district headquarters is Thanjavur. Thanjavur district is called ‘The Rice Bowl of Tamil Nadu’ because of its agricultural activities in the delta region of river Cauvey. The temple, culture and architecture of Thanjavur are famous throughout world. It is the historicalplace ruled by Chola, Nayk, Marathas and was under British rule till Independence.  The pursuits of these rulers are reflected in the great monuments like Grand Anaicut, Big Temple and Sarofoji Mahal, Palace and Saraswathi Mahal Library, the district.

Population of the district is 24,05,000 numbers as per Census 2011.  The population density is 708 persons per The  district literacy rate is 82.72 %.

Particulars Value
State Tamil Nadu
District 21 – THANJAVUR
Area(in Square KM) 3411
Total Polling Stations 2305
Total Parliamentary Constituencies 1
Total Assembly Constituencies 8
Total Population(Census 2011) 2612816
Total SC Population(in %) 18.7
Total ST Population(in %) 0.14
Total Population Density(per Sq. KM) 705
Total Male Electors 1004678
Total Female Electors 1065559
Total Third Gender Electors 161
Total NRI Electors 257
Total Service Electors 984
Total Electors 2071639
Gender Ratio 1056
Elector Percentage 78.91
No. of Sub-Divisions 3
No. of Blocks 14
No. of Gram Panchayats 589
No. of Census Village 620
No. of Municipal Corporation 2
No. of Municipalities 2
No. of Town/Notified Area 3
No. of Post Offices 507
No. of Police Stations 53
Name of Bordering State/Countries
Total Road Length 1057
National Highway Length 144.8
State Highway Length 469
District Road Length 444